SEO For XenForo Forum Software

JGaulard

Staff member
Pro Member
I've been using XenForo forum software for a few months now and I've come to learn a few things. I've learned that it's some of the best software I've ever taken advantage of and that it sure does create a lot of pages. If one member registers for an account and makes one post, lots of pages are spun out from that set of circumstances. Living in the world of Google Panda, this isn't a good thing. I've actually seen mixed effects though - some sites that allow all these extra pages to flood into Google's index are doing quite well, but from that I've unearthed, there's a definite theme to the most successful sites that use XenForo. The ones that do well can get away with their bad behavior because they've got tons of links pointing towards them. For the rest of us, we need to be careful.

There are two huge issues with the forum software, which surroung member profile pages as well as image pages. I'll talk about the profile pages first.

As I mentioned above, every member gets their own profile page when they register for an account. From what I've discovered, spammers like to register at forums, drop a link back to their spammy site in their profile and then never return to the site. It's important that the search engine crawlers never see that link, even if it does have the rel=nofollow attribute attached to it.